Colorado VA Home Loan Limits

colorado usa

With no universally accepted regional breakdown of the state, the structure of Colorado is refered to generically as the Eastern Slope and the Western Slope. Containing much of the Rocky Mountains and with the highest elevation in continental U.S., Colorado very much embodies the free spirit that this country was founded on. Named for the Colorado River and encompassing the western edge of the Great Plain, Colorado has topography as unique as its population. Admitted to the Union in 1876 as the 38th state, the region was inhabited by indigenous people for more than 13,000 years prior to contact with the first Europeans to enter the area. Francisco Vasquez de Coronado led the first European expedition throughout the area. Nearly 100 years later the Kingdom of France claimed the area. The secured part of the state as part of the Louisiana Purchase, but later abandoned claims to the area as part of the purchase of Florida. In totality, the territory of Colorado was acquired by the United States following the conclusion of the Mexican-American War.

The state is home to just over 5.187 million, with the most populous city being Denver. In fact, the Denver-Aurora-Boulder metropolitan area holds almost 62 percent of the state’s residents. Colorado has consistently been recognized for its strong and flourishing economy, and in 2010, CNBC named it as a Top State for Business, behind only Virginia and Texas.

With seven major military installations being located in Colorado, the state has a veteran population of almost 400,000, making it one of the premier places for veterans to purchase a home after their service. Bases in the state include the Pueblo Chemical Depot Army Base, Fort Carson Army Base, Schriever Air Force Base, Peterson Air Force Base, Cheyenne Mountain Air Force Base, Buckley Air Force Base, and Air Force Academy Air Force Base.

In order to obtain a VA home loan, a termite inspection is not required, but a Net Tangible Benefit worksheet is required. The portion of PUD HOA assessments superior to the VA first mortgage under Colorado’s Super Lien law can remain superior. For veterans considering the purchase a home in Colorado, using a VA home loan, it’s important to remember that the purchase of manufactured homes is not allowed.

Veterans in Colorado with a service-related disability that rates as 100 percent are entitled to the property tax exemption of 50 percent of the first $200,000 of the property value.

For veterans and service members who own a property in Colorado, and require assistance with a VA home loan short sale, contact 888-573-4496 or complete the form below. Short sale assistance provides tremendous value to the homeowner, including zero cost, no impact to security clearance or credit score if the loan is current, and veterans can enjoy the ability to re-use their VA benefit to purchase another home.


The following military installations are located in Colorado:

colorado air force bases

  1. Air Force Academy (Colorado Springs)
  2. Buckley Air Force Base (Aurora)
  3. Peterson Air Force Base (Colorado Springs)
  4. Schriever Air Force Base  (Colorado Springs)
  5. Fort Carson Army Post (Colorado Springs)

Colorado Home Loan Limits

The loan limits below are the maximum 2017, $0 down VA loan amount set for each county. Although there is no maximum loan amount, the maximum no money down VA home loan limits are stated as follows.

  1. Adams County One-Unit Limit $493,350
  2. Alamosa County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  3. Arapahoe County One-Unit Limit $493,350
  4. Archuleta County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  5. Baca County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  6. Bent County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  7. Boulder County One-Unit Limit $529,000
  8. Broomfield County One-Unit Limit $493,350
  9. Chaffee County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  10. Cheyenne County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  11. Clear Creek County One-Unit Limit $493,350
  12. Conejos County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  13. Costilla County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  14. Crowley County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  15. Custer County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  16. Delta County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  17. Denver County One-Unit Limit $493,350
  18. Dolores County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  19. Douglas County One-Unit Limit $458,850
  20. Eagle County One-Unit Limit $636,150
  21. El Paso County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  22. Elbert County One-Unit Limit $493,350
  23. Fremont County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  24. Garfield County One-Unit Limit $636,150
  25. Gilpin County One-Unit Limit $493,350
  26. Grand County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  27. Gunnison County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  28. Hinsdale County One-Unit Limit $427,800
  29. Huerfano County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  30. Jackson County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  31. Jefferson County One-Unit Limit $493,350
  32. Kiowa County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  33. Kit Carson County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  34. La Plata County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  35. Lake County One-Unit Limit $625,500
  36. Larimer County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  37. Las Animas County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  38. Lincoln County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  39. Logan County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  40. Mesa County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  41. Mineral County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  42. Moffat County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  43. Montezuma County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  44. Montrose County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  45. Morgan County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  46. Otero County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  47. Ouray County One-Unit Limit $425,500
  48. Park County One-Unit Limit $493,350
  49. Phillips County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  50. Pitkin County One-Unit Limit $625,500
  51. Prowers County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  52. Pueblo County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  53. Rio Blanco County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  54. Rio Grande County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  55. Routt County One-Unit Limit $625,500
  56. Saguache County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  57. San Juan County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  58. San Miguel County One-Unit Limit $625,500
  59. Sedgwick County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  60. Summit County One-Unit Limit $625,500
  61. Teller County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  62. Washington County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  63. Weld County One-Unit Limit $424,100
  64. Yuma County One-Unit Limit $424,100

To find out the exact dollar amount you qualify for, call the VA Home Loan Centers Applications Support Desk at 888-573-4496 or fill out the VA Home Loan Application located here.


Apply For Colorado VA Loan Short Sale Assistance:

If you own real estate in Colorado and are needing to sell your home due to PCS, BRAC, or for any other reason, call 888-573-4496 (option 2) to speak with a benefits officer. VA Home Loan Centers provides no cost assistance to homeowners who need to sell their home. This service is provided even if the borrower did not use their VA loan to finance the home.

To apply for VA Home Loan’s short sale services click here.

Apply For Va Home Loan Assistance

Step 1
Step 2
Step 3
Step 4
By Clicking “Get Started”, You agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy
Get Started loading
Continue loading
Is There A CoBorrower?
Yes No
Continue loading
Continue loading