A 3rd party broker that specializes in mortgages guaranteed by the US government

Illinois VA Home Loan Limit

illinois va home loan limitWith a potentially unmatched political pedigree, three American presidents have been elected while living in the state of Illinois: Abraham Lincoln, Ulysses S. Grant and Barack Obama. In addition, President Ronald Reagan was born and raised in Illinois. Since 1954, the state has honored Lincoln by adopting an official state slogan of “Land of Lincoln”, which is prominently displayed on state license plates. A diverse and culturally rich state, the post-slavery “Great Migration” brought droves of Southern African Americans. Chicago, and to a lesser extent other areas of the state are widely considered to have played a large role culturally in the development of Jazz and Blues music. The unique combination of the rural areas that characterize life in the Midwest, as well as the large metropolitan area of Chicago, Illinois offers residents the best of both worlds. In fact, Chicago is the third- most populous city in the U.S. The state has a diverse economy and serves as one of the country’s major hubs of transportation. Notable activities in Chicago include the tallest building in the western hemisphere, the Willis Tower (formerly the Sears Tower), The Art Institute of Chicago, Wrigley Field and the John Hancock Center. The city has many culinary specialties but is particularly lauded for its hot dogs and deep dish style pizza.

The entire state has a population of almost 13 million, and among those, over 764,000 are U.S. veterans. The state is home to an extensive number of military bases, including Scott Air Force Base, Rock Island Arsenal, and the Great Lakes Training Center.

For veterans who will purchase a home in the state using a VA home loan, a termite inspection is required, as is a Net Tangible Benefit worksheet. It’s also important for veterans to note that the purchase of manufactured homes using a VA loan is not permitted in Illinois.

Disabled veterans in Illinois qualify for a property tax exemption of up to $70,000 of the assessed value of their home, eligibility is determined case by case via the state’s Department of Veteran Affairs.

VA Appraisal Fees in Illinois

Effictive April 1, 2019, the Illinois VA Appraisal Fees are:

  • Single Family: $450
  • Condominium: $450
  • Manufactured Housing ( including modular): $450
  • 2-4 Unit Multi Family (Duplex, Triplex, Fourplex): $625
  • Appraisal Re-Inspection: $150

Illinois VA Home Loan Limits

NOTE: The following is for information purposes only.

To find out the exact dollar amount you qualify for, call the VA Home Loan Centers Applications Support Desk at 888-573-4496 or fill out the VA Home Loan Application located here.

As of 2020, counties come with $0 down and no VA loan limit. For more information, call 888-573-4496 to speak with a loan officer.

  1. Adams County
  2. Alexander County
  3. Bond County
  4. Boone County
  5. Brown County
  6. Bureau County
  7. Calhoun County
  8. Carroll County
  9. Cass County
  10. Champaign County
  11. Christian County
  12. Clark County
  13. Clay County
  14. Clinton County
  15. Coles County
  16. Cook County
  17. Crawford County
  18. Cumberland County
  19. DeKalb County
  20. DeWitt County
  21. Douglas County
  22. DuPage County
  23. Edgar County
  24. Edwards County
  25. Effingham County
  26. Fayette County
  27. Ford County
  28. Franklin County
  29. Fulton County
  30. Gallatin County
  31. Greene County
  32. Grundy County
  33. Hamilton County
  34. Hancock County
  35. Hardin County
  36. Henderson County
  37. Henry County
  38. Iroquois County
  39. Jackson County
  40. Jasper County
  41. Jefferson County
  42. Jersey County
  43. Jo Daviess County
  44. Johnson County
  45. Kane County
  46. Kankakee County
  47. Kendall County
  48. Knox County
  49. LaSalle County
  50. Lake County
  51. Lawrence County
  52. Lee County
  53. Livingston County
  54. Logan County
  55. Macon County
  56. Macoupin County
  57. Madison County
  58. Marion County
  59. Marshall County
  60. Mason County
  61. Massac County
  62. McDonough County
  63. McHenry County
  64. McLean County
  65. Menard County
  66. Mercer County
  67. Monroe County
  68. Montgomery County
  69. Morgan County
  70. Moultrie County
  71. Ogle County
  72. Peoria County
  73. Perry County
  74. Piatt County
  75. Pike County
  76. Pope County
  77. Pulaski County
  78. Putnam County
  79. Randolph County
  80. Richland County
  81. Rock Island County
  82. Saline County
  83. Sangamon County
  84. Schuyler County
  85. Scott County
  86. Shelby County
  87. St Clair County
  88. Stark County
  89. Stephenson County
  90. Tazewell County
  91. Union County
  92. Vermilion County
  93. Wabash County
  94. Warren County
  95. Washington County
  96. Wayne County
  97. White County
  98. Whiteside County
  99. Will County
  100. Williamson County
  101. Winnebago County
  102. Woodford County