A 3rd party broker that specializes in mortgages guaranteed by the US government

Iowa VA Home Loan Limits

Iowa VA Home Loan Limits

Claimed for France in 1673, Iowa was first explored by Jacques Marquette and Louis Jolliet. This exploration documented several Indian villages and tribes. A French territory until 1763, following their defeat during the French and Indian War, ownership of the area was transferred to Spain. As part of a treaty between France and Spain, Iowa reverted back to French control in 1800. Purchased by the United States as part of the Louisiana Purchase in 1803, Iowa was admitted to the Federal Union as the 29th state in 1846.

The only states bordered by two rivers; few areas in the U.S. embody Midwestern values and living more than Iowa. Named for the Ioway tribe, no other state has an abbreviation made up of two vowels (IA). Similar to the rest of the Midwest, Iowa has a humid continental climate. The average annual temperature in Des Moines, the state’s capital and largest city is 50 degrees Fahrenheit. Averaging 50 days of thunderstorms yearly, tornadoes are common place in the spring and summer months.

Consistently listed as one of the safest states in the country, Iowa draws residents in. The population of the state is over three million, with many residents working in production, retail, education and the culinary industry. The economy is largely based in Agriculture and Manufacturing. Biotechnology and Insurance are also prominent sectors of the economy. Politically important, the Iowa presidential caucuses draw national attention every four years. Historically Republican-leaning, the state has evolved into a swing state that often goes Democrat. Iowa has a rich history of progressivism. In the 1800’s, the state began prohibiting educational, racial discrimination. The state legislature outlawed slavery in 1839. In 1851, the state eliminated barriers to interracial marriage, more than 100 years before the U.S. Supreme Court would do the same. In 2009, Iowa became the third state and first in the Midwest to allow for same-sex marriage.

Popular activities in Iowa include the Field of Dreams baseball field in Dyersville, the Des Moines State Fair, the Des Moines Art Festival, and the Register’s Annual Great Bicycle Ride across Iowa.

The state has a veteran population of more than 230,000. This significant number means that 10 percent of Iowa’s population is comprised of veterans. The state has two major military installations—the Iowa Army Ammunition Plant and the USCG Group Upper Mississippi River. The state’s current military personnel population is at just over 17,500.

For veterans and service members planning to purchase a home in the state, using a VA home loan, a termite inspection is required.

The average home cost in the state is $126,200. Home appreciation in the past year has been nearly two percent. The cost of living in Iowa is 11 percent below the U.S. average.

All veterans (honorable discharge) living in Iowa qualify for a property tax exemption of $1,850 if they served during wartime or for a minimum of 18 months during peacetime.

Iowa VA Appraisal Fees

Effective April 1, 2019, the VA Appraisal Fees in Iowa are:

  • Single Family: $450
  • Condominium: $450
  • Manufactured Housing ( including modular): $450
  • 2-4 Unit Multi Family (Duplex, Triplex, Fourplex): $625
  • Appraisal Re-Inspection: $150

Iowa VA Home Loan Limits:

NOTE: The following is for information purposes only.

As of 2020, counties come with $0 down and no VA loan limit. For more information, call 888-573-4496 to speak with a loan officer.

  1. Adair County
  2. Adams County
  3. Allamakee County
  4. Appanoose County
  5. Audubon County
  6. Benton County
  7. Blackhawk County
  8. Boone County
  9. Bremer County
  10. Buchanan County
  11. Buena Vista County
  12. Butler County
  13. Calhoun County
  14. Carroll County
  15. Cass County
  16. Cedar County
  17. Cerro Gordo County
  18. Cherokee County
  19. Chickasaw County
  20. Clarke County
  21. Clay County
  22. Clayton County
  23. Clinton County
  24. Crawford County
  25. Dallas County
  26. Davis County
  27. Decatur County
  28. Delaware County
  29. Des Monies County
  30. Dickinson County
  31. Dubuque County
  32. Emmet County
  33. Fayette County
  34. Floyd County
  35. Franklin County
  36. Fremont County
  37. Greene County
  38. Grundy County
  39. Guthrie County
  40. Hamilton County
  41. Hancock County
  42. Hardin County
  43. Harrison County
  44. Henry County
  45. Howard County
  46. Humboldt County
  47. Ida County
  48. Iowa County
  49. Jackson County
  50. Jasper County
  51. Jefferson County
  52. Johnson County
  53. Jones County
  54. Keokuk County
  55. Kossuth County
  56. Lee County
  57. Linn County
  58. Louisa County
  59. Lucas County
  60. Lyon County
  61. Madison County
  62. Mahaska County
  63. Marion County
  64. Marshall County
  65. Mills County
  66. Mitchell County
  67. Monona County
  68. Monroe County
  69. Montgomery County
  70. Muscatine County
  71. O’Brien County
  72. Osceola County
  73. Page County
  74. Palo Alto County
  75. Plymouth County
  76. Pocahontas County
  77. Polk County
  78. Pottawattamie County
  79. Poweshiek County
  80. Ringgold County
  81. Sac County
  82. Scott County
  83. Shelby County
  84. Sioux County
  85. Story County
  86. Tama County
  87. Taylor County
  88. Union County
  89. Van Buren County
  90. Wapello County
  91. Warren County
  92. Washington County
  93. Wayne County
  94. Webster County
  95. Winnebago County
  96. Winneshiek County
  97. Woodbury County
  98. Worth County
  99. Wright County