A 3rd party broker that specializes in mortgages guaranteed by the US government

South Dakota VA Home Loan Limits

south dakota va loans

Known for the Mount Rushmore monument that was constructed in 1927 by Gutzon Borglum; the 60 foot face of Four American Presidents on the side of a granite mountain draws tourists to South Dakota from all over the world. Located in the Midwest, South Dakota is one of the least densely populated states in the country. The largest metropolitan area in the state is Sioux Falls, and the majority of the state’s residents live in the eastern portion of the state. The western part of South Dakota is made up by primarily agricultural areas. Mount Rushmore, Deadwood, and the Badlands are all tourist areas in the state. Deadwood, formerly a gambling and old West center, was fictionalized as the setting for the HBO T.V. show of the same name. The state has a population of 844,877. Four distinct regions make up the state: Southeast, Glacial Lakes, Great Lakes, Badlands and Black Hills. The state capital of Pierre is located on the Missouri River. Originally under French rule, South Dakota was purchased by the United States as part of the Louisiana Territory in 1803. The territory was admitted statehood in 1889, making it the 40th state in the union.

Today, the state’s economy is dominated by the service industry. Included in this sector are retail, finance, and health care. Government spending is responsible for ten percent of the gross state product. Additionally, agriculture is the main component of the state’s economy, with cattle, corn, soybeans, wheat and hogs being the five most important agricultural products in the state.

Much of the recreational activities in South Dakota are centered on the outdoors, including fishing, hunting, cycling and running. The Sturgis event is something that draws hundreds of thousands of visitors to the state of South Dakota annually.

The primary military base in South Dakota is the Ellsworth Air Force Base, and the veteran population is figured to be nearly 76,000. Ellsworth Air Force Base is the home of the 28th Bomb Wing, one of the two B-1B Lancer Strategic bomber wings in the U.S. Air Force.

For veterans and active-duty service members who plan to purchase a home in the state, a termite inspection is not required. The average home cost in South Dakota is below the national average at $158,400. Over the previous twelve months, home appreciation in the state has been four percent. The cost of living in South Dakota is 2.4 percent below the American average. The unemployment rate is 3.7 percent compared to the U.S. average of 6.3 percent.

South Dakota VA Home Loan Information

south dakota state sealNOTE: The following is for information purposes only.

To find out the exact dollar amount you qualify for, call the VA Home Loan Centers Applications Support Desk at 888-573-4496 or fill out the VA Home Loan Application located here.

The loan limits below are the maximum 2019, $0 down VA loan amount set for each county, incorporated city, or municipality (as listed below). Although there is no maximum loan amount, the maximum no money down VA home loan limits are stated as follows.

  1. Aurora County $484,350
  2. Beadle County $484,350
  3. Bennett County $484,350
  4. Bon Homme County $484,350
  5. Brookings County $484,350
  6. Brown County $484,350
  7. Brule County $484,350
  8. Buffalo County $484,350
  9. Butte County $484,350
  10. Campbell County $484,350
  11. Charles Mix County $484,350
  12. Clark County $484,350
  13. Clay County $484,350
  14. Codington County $484,350
  15. Corson County $484,350
  16. Custer County $484,350
  17. Davison County $484,350
  18. Day County $484,350
  19. Deuel County $484,350
  20. Dewey County $484,350
  21. Douglas County $484,350
  22. Edmunds County $484,350
  23. Fall River County $484,350
  24. Faulk County $484,350
  25. Grant County $484,350
  26. Gregory County $484,350
  27. Haakon County $484,350
  28. Hamlin County $484,350
  29. Hand County $484,350
  30. Hanson County $484,350
  31. Harding County $484,350
  32. Hughes County $484,350
  33. Hutchinson County $484,350
  34. Hyde County $484,350
  35. Jackson County $484,350
  36. Jerauld County $484,350
  37. Jones County $484,350
  38. Kingsbury County $484,350
  39. Lake County $484,350
  40. Lawrence County $484,350
  41. Lincoln County $484,350
  42. Lyman County $484,350
  43. Marshall County $484,350
  44. Mccook County $484,350
  45. Mcpherson County $484,350
  46. Meade County $484,350
  47. Mellette County $484,350
  48. Miner County $484,350
  49. Minnehaha County $484,350
  50. Moody County $484,350
  51. Pennington County $484,350
  52. Perkins County $484,350
  53. Potter County $484,350
  54. Roberts County $484,350
  55. Sanborn County $484,350
  56. Shannon County $484,350
  57. Spink County $484,350
  58. Stanley County $484,350
  59. Sully County $484,350
  60. Todd County $484,350
  61. Tripp County $484,350
  62. Turner County $484,350
  63. Union County $484,350
  64. Walworth County $484,350
  65. Yankton County $484,350
  66. Ziebach County $484,350