A 3rd party broker that specializes in mortgages guaranteed by the US government

Montana VA Home Loan Limits

Montana military homes

Located in the northwestern United States, with a number of mountain ranges, prairie landscape and Rocky Mountain backdrop, Montana embodies the freewheeling spirit of the American west. The name of the state is derived from the Spanish word for mountains, understandable when looking at the ranges that cut through the state; the Rocky Mountains, Bitterroot Mountains, Cabinet Mountains, Sapphire Mountains, Flint Creek Range, Anaconda Range and the Missions. Aptly nicknamed Big Sky Country and the Treasure State, the history of Montana was heavily influenced by Cattle Ranching, Railroads and violent battles over land ownership between the U.S. military and tribes native to the area. Famously, Montana native Jeannette Rankin was elected as the first female member of congress in 1916. During Rankin’s two terms in congress she was noted as one of only 50 members of Congress to vote against U.S. involvement in World War One, and as the only member of Congress to vote against American involvement in World War Two. A state noted for its patriotism, the number of Montana natives to serve in during WWI was 25 percent higher per capita than any other state in the country. WWII also saw Montana send more soldiers per capita than almost every other state.

Today, the population of Montana is 1,015,165. The economy of the state is highly dependent on farming, ranching and agriculture. The state also lures in millions of tourists each year because of the presence of scenic National Parks, including Yellowstone and Glacier National Park.

The state is the location for Malmstrom Air Force Base, and there is an active-duty population of just over 10,000. The veteran population of Montana is slightly over 102,000. Malmstrom Air Force Base is the home of 341st Missile Wing. The wing is an intercontinental ballistic missile unit, with a mission of “defending America with safe, secure, effective nuclear forces and combat-ready airmen.”

The state of Montana makes a great place for veterans to purchase a home, with its wide open spaces and legendary geography. Prominent activities in the area include fly-fishing, whitewater rafting, boating, hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding and skiing. Floating is often considered a Montana-centric experience, consisting of friends, inner tubes, rapids and adult beverages.

For veterans and service members planning to purchase a home using a VA-backed home loan, a termite inspection is not required.

A property tax exemption is available to veterans who are 100 percent disabled as a result of their service.

VA Home Loan Information for the State of Montana

NOTE: The following is for informational purposes only.

To find out the exact dollar amount you qualify for, call the VA Home Loan Centers Applications Support Desk at 888-573-4496 or fill out the VA Home Loan Application located here.

The loan limits below are the maximum, $0 down VA loan amount set for 2020 for each county, incorporated city, or municipality (as listed below). Although there is no maximum loan amount, the maximum no money down VA home loan limits are stated as follows.

  1. Anaconda- Deer Lodge County $484,350
  2. Beaverhead County $484,350
  3. Big Horn County $484,350
  4. Blaine County $484,350
  5. Broadwater County $484,350
  6. Carbon County $484,350
  7. Carter County $484,350
  8. Cascade County $484,350
  9. Chouteau County $484,350
  10. Custer County $484,350
  11. Daniels County $484,350
  12. Dawson County $484,350
  13. Fallon County $484,350
  14. Fergus County $484,350
  15. Flathead County $484,350
  16. Gallatin County $484,350
  17. Garfield County $484,350
  18. Glacier County $484,350
  19. Golden Valley County $484,350
  20. Granite County $484,350
  21. Hill County $484,350
  22. Jefferson County $484,350
  23. Judith Basin County $484,350
  24. Lake County $484,350
  25. Lewis And Clark County $484,350
  26. Liberty County $484,350
  27. Lincoln County $484,350
  28. Madison County $484,350
  29. Mccone County $484,350
  30. Meagher County $484,350
  31. Mineral County $484,350
  32. Missoula County $484,350
  33. Musselshell County $484,350
  34. Park County $484,350
  35. Petroleum County $484,350
  36. Phillips County $484,350
  37. Pondera County $484,350
  38. Powder River County $484,350
  39. Powell County $484,350
  40. Prairie County $484,350
  41. Ravalli County $484,350
  42. Richland County $484,350
  43. Roosevelt County $484,350
  44. Rosebud County $484,350
  45. Sanders County $484,350
  46. Sheridan County $484,350
  47. Silver Bow County $484,350
  48. Stillwater County $484,350
  49. Sweet Grass County $484,350
  50. Teton County $484,350
  51. Toole County $484,350
  52. Treasure County $484,350
  53. Valley County $484,350
  54. Wheatland County $484,350
  55. Wibaux County $484,350
  56. Yellowstone County $484,350